Français

The House of Balmain

The history of a great couturier

Pierre Balmain was born in St Jean de Maurienne, Savoie, in 1914. After the end of the war, in the autumn of 1945, having studied under the greatest couturiers of the time, Molyneux and Lucien Lelong, he opened his own Couture house and set up business in the Rue François 1er. His female clientele flocked to see him and were delighted to discover the new image of woman that he had created. That woman had shrugged off the last remaining images of the war, with considerable and unashamed charm, and in doing so heralded a return to opulence and richly embroidered finery.

The American author Gertrude Stein, a great friend of Pierre Balmain, enthusiastically greeted the arrival of the "New French Style" in her writings. The image soon to emerge was that of an active, vivacious, immaculate and elegant woman with a hint of insouciance; it was the birth of the "Jolie Madame", who symbolized the 1950s to perfection.

For Pierre Balmain, the 1960s were an occasion for renewal and the use of fabrics to explore pared-down shapes, in which structure acquired its full meaning. It involved a clashing and melding of new shapes and styles. It was also a sumptuous period for stage and theatre costumery. The couturier clothed numerous stars from within and outside France, including Brigitte Bardot, Marlène Dietrich and Katherine Hepburn, to name but a few. And it also marked a meeting with Her Majesty Queen Sirikit of Thailand, who appointed him as her exclusive couturier.

Pierre Balmain represented a certain idea of elegance and a clientele of queens, princesses and starlets, but as a label it was also very firmly established in the everyday world. The 1970s gave birth to the Ready-to-wear phenomenon, which secured a solid foothold in the market and which is currently producing some particularly satisfactory results with over 200 licences.

On the death of Pierre Balmain in 1982, Erik Mortensen, his very first assistant back in 1951 and his closest associate, ran with the Haute Couture flame, upholding the tradition while developing and renewing the same spirit of style and creativity. He was awarded the Golden Thimble of French Haute Couture for his Autumn/Winter 83-84 collection. On 31st July 1987, in the splendid setting of the Palais Galliéra, Erik Mortensen was awarded the Golden Thimble for the second time for his Autumn/Winter 87-88 collection. He left the House of Balmain in July 1990.

Then from 1990 to 1992, the young Hervé Pierre took over the helm of Haute Couture and Ready-to-Wear design at Balmain.

From 1993 to July 2002, Oscar de la Renta was Artistic Director of Haute Couture. Born in Santo Domingo to Spanish parents, Oscar de la Renta worked for Balenciaga's Madrilène studio, and then became Antonio Castillo's assistant at Lanvin before opening his own Couture house in New York in 1966. He remained staunchly faithful to the "Jolie Madame" style with his elegant, flowing designs.

Between 1998 and March 2000, Gilles Dufour, having been Karl Lagerfeld's right-hand man for 15 years, became Artistic Director of Balmain Diffusion Ready-to-Wear and the Licence Studios.

From March 2002 to the end of 2004, Laurent Mercier took over the Artistic Direction of Ready-to-Wear and, from September 2002, that of Haute Couture.

From February 2006 till March 2011, Christophe Decarnin has taken over the reins of women's ready-to-wear design at Balmain and from July 2008 till march 2011, he has assured the creation of the men’s ready to wear.

english

La maison Balmain

Historique

Pierre Balmain est né à St Jean de Maurienne en Savoie en 1914. Dès la fin de la guerre, à l’automne 1945, après avoir fait ses classes chez les deux plus grands couturiers de l’époque, Molyneux et Lucien Lelong, il ouvre sa propre Maison de couture et s’installe Rue François 1er. Les clientes affluent et découvrent avec ravissement cette nouvelle image de la femme. C’est une femme qui rejette les dernières traces de la guerre avec beaucoup d’insolence et de charme, qui annonce le retour à l’opulence avec des toilettes richement brodées.

L’auteur américain, Gertrude Stein, grande amie de Pierre Balmain, salue à travers ses écrits, l’arrivée de ce « New French Style ». Bientôt s’élabore limage d’une femme active, pétulante, soignée, élégante avec une touche de désinvolture ; c’est la naissance de la « Jolie Madame » qui symbolise parfaitement les années 50.

Les années 1960 sont pour Pierre Balmain l’occasion d’un renouvellement à travers l’emploi des tissus exploités selon des formes dépouillées où la structure prend tout son sens. On y voit s’opposer des formes, des styles nouveaux. C’est aussi une période faste pour le costume de scène et de théâtre. Le couturier habille de nombreuses vedettes françaises ou étrangères telles que Brigitte Bardot, Marlène Dietrich, Katherine Hepburn, pour n’en citer que quelques unes. C’est également la rencontre avec sa Majesté la reine Sirikit de Thaïlande qui l’a élu son couturier exclusif.

Pierre Balmain, c’est une certaine idée de l’élégance, une clientèle de reines, de princesses et de vedettes, mais c’est aussi une griffe très solidement établie dans le monde. Les années 1970 donnent naissance au Prêt-à-Porter qui s’implante sur le marché et donne actuellement des résultats tout à fait satisfaisants avec plus de 200 licences.

A la disparition de Pierre Balmain en 1982, Erik Mortensen, son premier assistant depuis 1951 et son plus proche collaborateur, a repris le flambeau de la Haute Couture en maintenant la tradition tout en développant et renouvelant dans le même esprit le style et la création. Le dé d’or de la Haute Couture Française lui a été décerné pour sa collection Automne-Hiver 83-84. Le 31 juillet 1987, dans le cadre du Palais Galliéra, Erik Mortensen s’est vu remettre, pour la deuxième fois, le dé d’or pour sa collection Automne-Hiver 87-88. Il a quitté la Maison Balmain en juillet 90.

Puis de 1990 à 1992, le jeune Hervé Pierre a assuré la création de la Haute Couture et du Prêt-à-Porter de la Maison Balmain.

De 1993 à juillet 2002, Oscar de la Renta fut le Directeur Artistique de la Haute Couture. Né à St Domingue, de parents espagnols, Oscar de la Renta a travaillé pour le studio Madrilène de Balenciaga puis a été l’assistant d’Antonio Castillo chez Lanvin avant d’ouvrir sa propre Maison en 1966, à New York. Il est resté fidèle au style « Jolie Madame » avec des modèles fluides et élégants.

De 1998 à mars 2000, Monsieur Gilles Dufour, après avoir été pendant 15 ans le bras droit de Karl Lagerfeld, fut le Directeur Artistique du Prêt-à-Porter Balmain Diffusion et des Studios de Licences.

De mars 2002 Ă  fin 2004, Laurent Mercier assura la Direction Artistique du PrĂŞt-Ă -Porter et, Ă  partir de septembre 2002, celle de la Haute Couture.

De février 2006 à mars 2011, Christophe Decarnin a assuré la Direction de la création du prêt-à-porter féminin de la Maison Balmain et à compter de juillet 2008 jusqu’à mars 2011, il a assuré la création du prêt-à-porter Masculin.